Initial Guardian Supplement Ideas

I began gathering ideas for style and content by researching the current regular Guardian supplement, G2. The covers, whilst appearing very different, have many common themes, the main one being the G2 logo (in the guardian font) remaining a constant size, with a constantly transparent “G” outline. One thing that isn’t constant is its placement which moves around, with respect to the central image.

60e9879a46720d7bcb0e89d592177954

1353002511

tumblr_o2lw7ozvcc1qj8g4ao1_500

Other constant themes are the left hand side bracket that features “the guardian” logo and the date of release and issue number. There is also the 5 part grid, split, black strip at the bottom which features 5 subject headings and a small tagline dictated by hierarchy of font.

b86b647094a1dfe2110b085d7e24d23a-jpg
1425901714

tumblr_lzjaimiczc1qaxy21o1_1280

Image topics are varied and don’t seem to follow any common, specific style, be it photography, vector images, pixel art etc. but they do follow a theme of only having one image, that isn’t too busy or loud, with accompanying text supporting the main body of the inside text.

createbritainnotes019

I then looked at the Guardian newspaper’s demographic and stylistic themes. The closest font I have been able to find and download is the MerriWeather font that emulates the Guardian logo and titling style.

screen-shot-2016-11-11-at-15-36-01

The only real difference in styles is the official Guardian font (below) appears to have more slanted serifs and a few, barely noticeable increased width curves.

the_guardian-svg

My attention then shifted to the format and subject of my Create Britain issue, and the proposed series as a whole. My attention immediately shifted to music as its a topic that interests me and, being an active member of my local music scene in Sheffield, I wanted to focus on the regionality of British music.

createbritainnotes018

Focussing on the regionality, I wanted to think about how I could bring about my idea of Britain as a state of mind, a driving force of creative mindsets, rather than stereotypical imagery.

createbritainnotes021

I brainstormed ideas of bringing in other creative topics beyond music. I wanted to look at artists, creative businesses, engineering as a creative output, actors, comedians and everything that has perpetuated a modern, regional culture that helps to accumulate Britain as a creative and relevant leader in this modern world.

createbritainnotes021-2

I had to decide whether to split the issues between topics or region. Focussing around the regions meant I could use the visual representation of a map and link topics to the locations very literally. However I feel like this would spread each issue a little thin and give less room for discussion, background and elaboration on topics.

createbritainnotes022-2

Thus I decided to keep each issue region specific. For this brief I will produce the Yorkshire issue, as it is the region I am most familiar with. I will, however, aim to mock up a thematic front cover for all the proposed issue, centred around a common theme.

I brainstormed the first regional creatives that came to mind and began to link up common themes of regionality, such as industrial language used, comedy styles, musical influence and origins of fashion,

createbritainnotes022

Tracing a UK map and drawing focal points away from the centres of each region to create triangular vector shapes. I will use these to form the basis of my visuals and to shape how each issue will look ie. highlighting the specific region for each issue.

createbritainnotes023

 

Leave a Reply

